29 years
Community Service
News Magazine
Operated by couple Eddie Flores and Orquidia Valenzuela
News and Views of the
Filipino Community Worldwide

By Ric de Vera
NSW Australia
June 27, 2016


He was awarded with the monumental championship trophy, economy class return airfare to Manila courtesy of Philippine Airlines and the privilege to engrave his name in the perpetual trophy. He also received a dozen of golf balls. “Am so happy to win this prestigious golf tournament and was impressed by how well it was organised. I am looking forward to defend my title next year” said an ecstatic Bill Yelland.

Division winners were: John Lo Surdo for A with score of 39 points using handicap of 13 from Italian Golf Association; Govind Singh for B with score of 38 points using handicap of 19 from ParE Golf; Mek Phungsaphan for C with score of 39 points using handicap of 24 from Thai Golf Association; and Vicky Hoare for Ladies with score of 35 points using her AGU handicap of 24. These winners received $300 each cash prize, trophies and a dozen of golf balls for their exceptional efforts.

Division runners up were: Sam Akbar for A with score of 36 points using his AGU handicap of 13; Nelson Catig for B with score of 37 points using handicap of 20 from Puro Golf Club; Caesar David for C with score of 37 points using handicap of 27 from Sydney Jokers and Vangie Leones for Ladies with score of 28 points using handicap of 24 from Stonecutters Ridge Golf Club. For being the runners up in their divisions, these winners were awarded $150 cash prize, trophies and a dozen of golf balls.

Novelty prize winners of $30 each and a dozen of golf balls on all holes were: Vangie Leones (D & P on hole 1), Buddy Nagi (D & P on holes 2 & 14), Adrian Engo (D & P on hole 3), Mike Baylon (D & P on hole 4), Richard Espiritu (Longest drive on hole 5), Romy Tablizon (NTP on hole 6), Carlos Quintana (D & P on hole 7), Fidelis Badelles (Longest drive on hole 8), Jason Lam (D & P on holes 9 & 11), Sam Ramos (Longest Drive on hole 10), Art Phyasirikul (D & P on hole 13), Mannix Gonzales (NTP on hole 15), Aris Ortanez (D & P on hole 16), Ellen Sioco (NTP on hole 17 and Bernie Balagtas (D & P on hole 18). No one won the Drive & Pitch at holes 12 & 13.

Before the awards presentation, this writer as chairperson of the new Kalayaan Cup Organising Committee welcomed all the participants and thanked the major sponsors for their continued support namely, Philippine Airlines represented by Country Manager for Australia & New Zealand Ian Robinson, LBC represented by Delfin Posada, RO Biala Pty Ltd, Myron’s Star Quality Food Products and Mortgage House Blacktown represented by Branch Manager Carol Manoloto. He also expressed appreciation and thanks to the various social golf clubs and groups for supporting this year’s PAL Kalayaan cup golf tournament. In particular the Sydney Metro Social Golf club (Vangie Leones), Puro Golf Club (Toto Quintana), Golf ParE Social Club (Alex Cruz), Pogi Golf (Noel Santos), Thai Golf Association (Sutti Sutontanyakorn), Italian Golf Club (Angelo Lo Surdo) and other groups who sent their representatives such as Sydney Jokers, Fairgolf, ParX. Two golfers from Pinoy Golfers of Melbourne (Victoria) were duly acknowledged.

In his message, Consul Marford Angeles who represented the Honourable Philippine Consul General in Sydney, Anne Jalando-on Louis praised the new Kalayaan cup organising committee chaired by Ric de Vera and expressed appreciation to the Philippine flag carrier for continuously supporting this golf tournament to celebrate the anniversary of Philippine Independence.

On his part, the PAL country manager Ian Robinson expressed his appreciation to the new Kalayaan Cup Organising Committee for the successful holding of the golf tournament which everyone enjoyed, including himself. He indicated his desire for PAL to continue this tradition which was started some fifteen years ago as the holder of the naming rights.

For the first time, all holes were sponsored by the following at $100 per hole: NLC Electrical (1), AAES Air conditioning (2 &3), Dr Corazon Alvarez-Francisco (4), Prestige Creations (5), The Golf Factory (6), Danny Martinez (7), NU Tyres (8), TMG Shuttle Service (9), Roy Velasco (10), Sydney Puro Social Golf club (11), Ilocano Association (12), Anton & Kate Andres (13), Ezy & Ellen Sioco (14), G & J’s Automotive (15), Dr Roger Fabian (16), Knights of Rizal – Sydney Chapter (17) and Sydney Metro Social Golf Club (18).

In January of this year, a new committee called Kalayaan Cup Organising Committee was formed in order to continue the tradition of running this annual golf tournament to celebrate the anniversary of Philippine Independence. Volunteers from different Filipino social golf clubs were invited and formed part of this Committee, initially chaired by this writer. There were fifteen (15) golfers who signified their intention to help and judging from the success of the 21st series, this golf tournament is now an icon and considered the biggest and well attended golf event in the Filipino-Australian golfing community not only in NSW but the whole Australia.

    MoreELIZABETH MARIE MABB Wins Miss Philippines PIDC Title at the PIDC 2017 BEAUTY PAGEANT
    Tony A. San Juan

    Toronto-June 3, 2017: True to its long held tradition and purposeful practice, the quintessential Philippine Independence Day Council - PIDC, proudly and remarkably conducted its 17th annual beauty pageant . The selection and coronation of the "2017 Miss Philippines PIDC" and "Little Miss Philippines PIDC" winners was held on June 3, 2017 at the Isabel Bader Theatre, University of Toronto-Victoria College, Toronto with over 300 people in...
    MoreRafanans Crowned as MME King and Queen of Hearts
    Fe Paca Taduran

    Phillip and Gloria Rafanan were recently crowned as the Movement for Marriage Enrichment  (MME) King and Queen of...
    Herminia Cruz Reyes

    Ghent-Belgium June 3, 2017: The program of the day was focused on TAHANAN: Family, Solidarity, Liberty,...
    MoreAPCO’s Freedom Charity Ball 2017 a voice for Harmony and Respect
    Richard J. Ford

    Sydney-June 10, 2017The Freedom Charity Ball 2017 was celebrated at the Club Marconi, Bossley Park on 10th...
    By: Orquidia. Valenzuela,  as reported by Myrla Danao

    Businessman Jaap van Dijke, chairman and two board members, Myrla Danao and Dr. John Deen of Con Amor foundation in...
    MoreArt Creations
    Vicente Collado Jr.


    Many believe formal training is a prerequisite to quality in painting. Not a few will agree with me one can...
    Orquidia Valenzuela Flores

    Sixty-three children from age three to six years, in the very poor community of Don Manuel village in Barangay...

    Contents posted in this site, muntingnayon.com, are the sole responsibility of the writers and do not reflect the editorial position of or the writers' affiliation with this website, the website owner, the webmaster and Munting Nayon News Magazine.

    This site, muntingnayon.com, the website owner, the webmaster and Munting Nayon News Magazine do not knowingly publish false information and may not be held liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, consequential or punitive damages arising for any reason whatsoever from this website or from any web link used in this site.